MoT Intermediate Certificate in Test Automation

What is the MoT Intermediate Certificate in Test Automation?

The MoT Intermediate Certificate in Test Automation (MoT-ICTA) certification course is designed for professionals who wish to advance their careers to more senior roles in test automation. Crafted by Ministry of Testing, our comprehensive curriculum covers a spectrum of critical competencies, from creating and maintaining automated checks to reporting results that matter to stakeholders. 

You'll master the intricacies of maintaining a robust testing framework and managing execution environments, making you a versatile and sought-after senior test automation engineer.

Course Contents

  1. Creating Automated Checks: Develop the competencies required to identify the right automated checks, determine the appropriate system layers to target, and build effective automated checks. Covering:
    • Deciding What Automated Checks to Create
    • Choosing a Layer to Automate On
    • Designing Automated Checks
    • Codifying State Management
    • Codifying Actions
    • Implementing Assertions Into Checks
    • Debugging Your Automated Checks
    • Using Code Reviews for Checks
  2. Maintaining Automated Checks: Understand why maintaining automated checks is crucial, and master the art of ongoing maintenance to enhance check reliability and reduce flakiness. Covering:
    • Deciding When Automated Checks Need Maintenance
    • Evaluating Automated Checks
    • Dealing With Flakey Checks
  3. Reporting Automation Results: Gain expertise in identifying valuable automation results for stakeholders and implementing tools to collect and share these results effectively. Covering:
    • Collecting Information for Reporting
    • Creating and Sending Automation Reports
    • Reviewing Reports and Taking Action
  4. Maintaining a Framework: Learn to assess framework maintenance needs, identify necessary maintenance steps, and execute them to ensure framework robustness. Covering:
    • Knowing When Framework Maintenance is Required
    • Maintaining Framework Dependencies
    • Maintaining Good Coding Practices
    • Maintaining Framework Documentation
  5. Managing Execution of Automated Checks: Analyse execution environments, identify execution requirements, and set up automation execution runs for efficient testing. Covering:
    • Setting up Environments for Automated Checking
    • Modifying an Environment for Automation
    • Deciding What Automated Checks to Run and When
    • Setting up triggers to Execute Automation

Why choose MoT Certifications?

  • Proven Legacy: Ministry of Testing has been a trusted partner in the software industry since 2007.
  • Community-Powered: Our course curriculums are driven by the testing community, ensuring their relevance and quality.
  • Industry Expertise: The Test Automation curriculum is co-created with input from over 150 Test Automation Professionals.
  • Engaging Learning: Experience engaging and interactive courses.
  • Flexible Learning: Learn at your own pace with our online, self-paced courses.
  • Community Support: Join a supportive community for all your questions and concerns.
  • Transparent Pricing: Enjoy an all-inclusive price with no hidden fees.
  • Career Boost: Our credible certification can elevate your career in test automation.


Mark Winteringham's profile'

Mark Winteringham

Tester, Toolsmith, Author and Instructor

Mark Winteringham is a tester, toolsmith and author of AI-Assisted Testing and Testing Web APIs, with over ten years of experience providing testing expertise on award-winning projects across a wide range of technology sectors, including BBC, Barclays, UK Government and Thomson Reuters. He is an advocate for modern risk-based testing practices and trains teams in Automation, Behaviour Driven Development and Exploratory testing techniques. He is also the co-founder of Ministry of Testing Essentials a community raising awareness of careers in testing and improving testing education. You can find him on Twitter @2bittester or at mwtestconsultancy.co.uk
Frequently Asked Questions

MoT Course Certificates are created by Ministry of Testing following deep research alongside the software testing community. Our goal is to create education.
All our courses aim to be cover topics in depth and with relevance and delivered in various digital media options. MoT Course Certificates are delivered self-paced and on-demand. Completion of courses and associated tests lead to MoT accreditation with a Certificate.

Yes. All the content and activities are to be completed online. Everything is available on-demand and can be completed at your own pace.

Each individual MoT Certification describes the level of knowledge, experience or pre-requisites required.

Pro-members are entitled to MoT Certification course discounts. The discount will vary depending on the certification course chosen.

Refunds are not available on MoT Certifications.

Yes, you can purchase an MoT Certification as many times as you like. You'll then be able to assign all your purchases to individual team members.

Once the content is live, we'll email all purchasers explaining how to get access to the content. The MoT Certifications courses will also be available for learner dashboards.

Yes, each MoT Certification will be updated on a regular basis. Updates will be included in all purchases, you won't have to pay for updates.

Basic knowledge of coding would be advantageous but is not essential as you will be guided through building automation in code. Notably, coding basics are not covered in these courses, but there are lots of free resources available online.

The practices and approaches covered in the certifications apply to any set-up or tools. Good automation comes from applying these practices to the tools that work best in a specific context. However, the IDEs and frameworks used are as follows:

  • Java: IDE is IntelliJ. Frameworks are JUnit, RestAssured and Selenium-WebDriver.
  • CSharp: IDE is Visual Studio Code. Frameworks are NUnit, RestAssured and Selenium-WebDriver.
  • JavaScript: IDE is Visual Studio Code. Frameworks are Jest, React-Testing-Library and WebDriverIO

Each course covers different aspects of Test Automation and is designed to cater to different levels of expertise. You can take the courses in order, going from foundation-level through to advanced-level or take the course that suits your current career goals. Here is a list of the Test Automation certifications, what they cover and who they’re aimed at:

  • MoT Foundation Certificate in Test Automation: This course is tailored for individuals beginning their journey in test automation. It focuses on core concepts and practical skills required for an entry-level Test Automation Engineer role.
  • MoT Intermediate Certificate in Test Automation: Aimed at professionals looking to advance to senior roles, this course delves deeper into the intricacies of creating and maintaining automated tests, reporting results, and managing testing frameworks and environments.
  • MoT Expert Certificate in Test Automation: This course is designed for experienced professionals aspiring to leadership roles in Test Automation. It covers advanced topics such as devising comprehensive automation strategies, planning automation projects, and leading test automation initiatives.

See more FAQs here
Select option:

Certification Details

  • Level
  • Modules
  • Duration
    21h 53m
  • Study Method:
    Online, Self-paced
  • Completion Award:
    MoT Certificate
  • Release:
    Jan 2024